Review Of The Lyle Lovett Cd Road To Ensenada

Road To Ensenada is the latest Rock CD released by the richly talented Lyle Lovett who once again has delivered a brilliant collection of tracks. I?m confident Lyle Lovett fans, and Rock fans alike will be pleased with this one.

This CD grabs your attention right from the outset with Don’t Touch My Hat and won?t let go until the very last note of the very last song The Road To Ensenada, which is another great track by the way.

Lyle Lovett is one of those musicians that has the ability to just win you over with him talent. The kind of artist it?s really a treat to be able to listen to.

Listen to this CD and I believe you?ll find there’s not much to dis-like about it. The songs are inspired, the production is simply outstanding, and Lyle Lovett is clearly in top form. So much so that if you’re even mildly into Rock music you’ll enjoy this CD.

While this entire CD is really very good some of my favorites are track 2 – Her First Mistake, track 9 – I Can’t Love You Anymore, and track 12 – The Road To Ensenada

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in “Stuck On REpeat”] is track 1 – Don’t Touch My Hat. This is a great track!

Road To Ensenada Release Notes:

Lyle Lovett originally released Road To Ensenada on June 18, 1996 on the MCA Records label.

CD Track List Follows:

1. Don’t Touch My Hat 2. Her First Mistake 3. Fiona 4. That’s Right (You’re Not From Texas) 5. Who Loves You Better 6. Private Conversation 7. Promises 8. It Ought To Be Easier 9. I Can’t Love You Anymore 10. Long Tall Texan 11. Christmas Morning 12. Road To Ensenada, The

Personnel: Lyle Lovett (vocals, acoustic guitar); Arnold McCuller, Sweet Pea Atkinson, Sir Harry Bowens, Willie Greene, Jr., Randy Newman (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic & electric guitars); Don Potter (acoustic guitar); Paul Franklin (steel guitar); Stuart Duncan (fiddle); Garey Herbig (alto, tenor & baritone saxophones); Chuck Findley (trumpet, trombone); Greg Adams (trumpet); Matt Rollings (piano); Leland Sklar (bass); Russ Kunkel (drums, shaker); Luis Conte (tambourine, shaker, percussion); Jackson Browne, Shawn Colvin, Herb Pedersen, Chris Hillman, Valerie Carter, Kate Markowitz (background vocals).

Recorded at Conway Studios, Los Angeles, California.

Leave a Comment